Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #4 Mary, Daniel, and Lillie SMILEY

This is a spin-off of my 52 Ancestors: #14 Albert Spencer LILLIE (1848-1913) ~ Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can blogpost in which I featured a few photos from a collection of old photographs my 4C1R Joe Rooney shared with me. I asked Joe about using the photos and he kindly wrote, Please use them at your will.  I feel it is keeping it in the family and don’t need credit.  If anything, I appreciate your evaluations, identifications and detective work.  I’m hopeful you and yours enjoy them.  On a blog, in a book, above a cloud.”

Please contact me!
Are you related to a person mentioned in this post? Send an email to
openingdoorsinbrickwalls @ pt.lu or message me on my Facebook page
Opening Doors in Brick Walls.

The collection of photographs scanned by Joe Rooney does not include a photograph of Albert Spencer LILLIE’s wife Pernecia Elizabeth GLASS (1852-1899). Pernecia was the daughter of Green B. GLASS (1820-1897) and his wife Rebecca NICHOLS (1824-1875). There are several photographs labelled with the surname GLASS. The following have been featured:

#2 Green B. GLASS (1820-1897) father of
#3 Green Berry Lyon GLASS (1864-1935) brother, brother-in-law and uncle of

#4 Mary Jane GLASS (1854-1930), Daniel Young SMILEY (1849-1935), and Pernecia Lillie SMILEY (1887-1931)

Albert Spencer LILLIE’s wife Pernecia Elizabeth GLASS had several sisters and one brother who died young. Mary Jane GLASS (1854-1930) was her only sibling to marry and have children. Mary Jane married Daniel Young SMILEY (1849-1935) about 1871.

glass5Mary and Dan had 8 children, 6 of whom were living in 1900 and 1910. They named their second daughter Pernecia Lillie SMILEY (1887-1931) after her aunt Pernecia LILLIE, wife of Albert. Of Mary and Dan’s children only this daughter, who went by Lillie, had a photo in this collection.

glass7Joe Rooney has kindly given me permission to feature these photographs on my blog.

Joe ROONEY wrote on 15 February 2015: This collection of photographs was scanned at 300 dpi color by me. The original photos were sent by Sandra Lillie about ten years ago after she found them cleaning out a relative’s garage in Southern Illinois, finding no other takers (suckers). She believes they were a collection by L Vance Lillie. Many of the pictures seemed to be removed from frames or were in albums evidenced by fading characteristics and may have been from other’s collections. I scanned the reverse if there was laboratory advertising or writing. Some of the authors’ identification may be figured out of the handwriting matches. I did not scan the reverse of photos where there was only a three digit number that I believe to be sequence numbers on a roll of film. I didn’t spot any obvious helpful commonalities.

© 2015 Cathy Meder-Dempsey

Save

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

When I’m not doing genealogy and blogging, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful Luxembourg countryside.

4 thoughts on “Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #4 Mary, Daniel, and Lillie SMILEY”

    1. People love to see old photographs. If I had more of my own family I would be sharing, sharing, sharing. I hope that by featuring these, even though many are not related to me, I will be able to find descendants who are interested. Thanks for stopping by. Look forward to seeing yours when you feature them.

      Like

  1. I was reviewing the collection and was intrigued that Lillie P Smiley stayed with her parents until her death. I’m thinking she was a special need child. Anyway, I did take a picture of the rather huge stone my Uncle Roy Lillie erected at the Azotus Cemetery for Albert S Lillie. Makes me wonder if the Antioch Cemetery is what I’ve called the Azotus Cemetery all these years. I’m still looking for all my GPS readings of the gravesites.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

AI Genealogy Insights

Exploring the Advantages and Limitations of Artificial Intelligence-assisted Genealogy

Konzen Genealogy

Tracing the Konzen Family Line

Laura J. Hanson

City writer with a country view

Look into my eye

Mijn ervaring met Acanthamoeba Keratitis, meer dan alleen een ernstige oogaandoening

Secrets et ancêtres

Généalogie familiale

Finding My Ancestors

a personal family tree blog

B&F: Jewish Genealogy and More

Navigating Jewish Genealogy

Through The Byzantine Gate

The Serrapede and Muro Families-From Agropoli to America

Blackthorn Genealogy

tales of ancestral adventure, genealogical pursuit, and greater belonging

Many Branches, One Tree

...Understanding our roots helps us grow

Roots Revealed

Viewing African American History Through a Genealogical Lens

Decluttering the Stuff

Decluttering the Stuff to Live a Decluttered Life

Genealogy Bites

Little bites of genealogy.

Past Presence

For genealogists and family historians

Finding Progenitors

Ask Questions........Share Stories

Caroline's Chronicles

My family & other oddities

DNAsleuth

incorporating DNA in genealogy research

This Is Us

The Browns & The Moores, A Few Gauffreaus & Gustins

noisybrain

As my life goes by, the past gets closer and the future further away.