Chiseled in stone: “Veuve Schloesser 1800-1889”

Door 6When I began doing genealogy in the early 1990s my families in Luxembourg were the first I researched. With the information found on grave markers I went about collecting marriage records as these include dates and places of birth for bride and groom, ages and places of residence of parents, and dates and places of death for deceased parents. From these I learned that Veuve SCHLOESSER was Anna Maria CONSBRÜCK, the widow of Jean Joseph SCHLOESSER who died in Metz, France, in 1841. The registrar searched the 1889 death records in Echternach and our local priest checked his records but nothing was found.

With the 1843-1900 census records for Luxembourg now available at FamilySearch.org I finally found the answer. She wasn’t born in 1800 but in 1810 and didn’t die in 1889 but in 1897 (age 87). I located her death record and found other records to prove her parents and both sets of grandparents. I’m working on finding records for them which may get me back even another generation.

1963-12-04 CemeteryAll this time I thought that my families in Echternach all came from other places in Luxembourg before the 1880s. Now I can trace CONSBRÜCK, SCHMITT, LANSER, and HASTERT back to at least the mid-1700’s in Echternach.

1963-12-03 CemeterySo another lesson learned: even if it is written in stone, it pays to check all records available for the full story.

Note: For nearly 20 years I thought that my Schloesser-Consbrück family came from France because their children were born there and the father died there. I am now really happy that these families (still looking for Schloesser) came from the town I live in!! So now you know why this is included in the header for my gedcom file: This is a work in process and corrections are being made all the time. WHAT YOU COPY TODAY MAY NOT BE CORRECT TOMORROW.

Update 23 January 2013: After talking to Rob Deltgen last week I pushed to find more on the SCHLOESSER side of the family. I have often searched for Jean Joseph SCHLOESSER and his wife Anna Maria “Marie” CONSBRÜCK on the internet and never came up with any hits (except my own gedcom file). I can’t remember what search criteria I used this time but I got a new hit on a database that I’ve never been able to access before. I found the name of Jean Joseph’s father: Jean-Népomucène SCHLOESSER. With a name like this you can imagine that hits would be very rare but I found a gedcom file that gives me 4-5 generations of family to work with. I am so lucky that these families are from Luxembourg, that the records were kept so well, and that FamilySearch gives free access to them.

© 2013 Cathy Meder-Dempsey

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

Leave a Reply

