William JOHNSON 1755-1805

Door13Pioneer settler of present-day Nicholas County, West Virginia

When I first began doing genealogy research on the internet in 2000 I found William JOHNSON, husband of Amy NELSON, listed with ancestors going back to the 1400s. Lack of sources made me suspicious and, to date, I haven’t found “documented” parents for William JOHNSON.

He is mentioned in several history books:
“West Virginians in the Revolution”
“History of Charleston and Kanawha County, West Virginia and Representative Citizens” (1911)
“A History of Monroe County, West Virginia” (1916)
“History of Nicholas County, West Virginia” (1954)
“A Record of the Early Settlement of Lower Loup Creek-Fayette Co. WV-1798-1805” (1933).

In the last, L. Neil Darlington wrote, “John Johnson and his brother, William, came to Loup Creek in 1827, from Gauley River. They were sons of William Johnson, Sr., one of the first settlers of Nicholas Co. He had come about 1795, from Bath Co. Va, and settled on Peter’s Creek, a branch of the Gauley. Here he died in 1805, and was buried on the farm now occupied by a Mr. Summers. His headstone states that he was a soldier in the Rev. War.”

In regard to William’s Revolutionary War service I would like to see pgs. 372-373 of “Augusta County, Virginia Court Orders 1774-1785“ by Bevin Creel which may mention that he was a constable in Capt. Campbell’s Co. in 1782 (as per DAR#A063847). I would also like to see the Revolutionary War pension application S7220 which I assume was for his widow Amy.

I found “William Edward Johnson” on Find A Grave (Memorial# 29135496) with a photo of this headstone taken by a descendant. I don’t know where the middle name comes from and if it is correct or not. Further searches showed that the person who took the photo, Carl Johnson, believes that William was the son of James Johnston and Mary Elizabeth Ware. I contacted Carl and we’ll be discussing his information.

Hopefully I’ll soon be able to post updates on our discussions.

UPDATE: David Fridley provided me with pgs. 372-373 of “Augusta County, Virginia Court Orders 1774-1785“ by Bevin Creel AND solved the mystery of the Revolutionary War pension application S7220. He looked it up by app number on fold3.com and it belonged to John Merrill of NJ who died in Buncombe Co, NC. The error was caused when some footnotes were converted incorrectly into a new genealogy program. Fixed and checked off my list.

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

4 thoughts on “William JOHNSON 1755-1805”

  1. Nathaniel Johnson was my Great Grandfather. His daughter/My Grandmother is 95 . She is the 7th child of Nathan & Minnie Lou Johnson. Thank you for such a great blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

