I May Soon Be a Godmother!

“Thanks for your great and really motivating work.”

My friend Patrick, also my husband’s 2C1R, wrote this wonderful line at the end of his status on his Facebook timeline last Saturday. Patrick and my husband share common ancestors, Lorentz SCHWARTZ (1761-1820) and Magdalena HALER (1767-1854),  with one of the first genealogy bloggers I’ve ever “met” and followed – Julie Cahill Tarr of Julie’s Genealogy & History Hub.

It feels so good to get messages like this and even better when you hear about how people are implementing the things they learn from your blog.

Since Patrick wrote the status in Luxembourgish, I’ll give you a short summary of what wrote.

patrickHe tells about how he’s been interested in his family history since the age of 16. He had information from family members but didn’t have a system to keep track and research.  In September he didn’t know how to move forward and now he’s proud of what he’s done in the past few months. He has a genealogy program to keep his information organized. He’s learned to use the civil and census records for Luxembourg on FamilySearch (available 24/7) instead of going to the archives and working with the microfilm (which is a lot of work!). And he gives ME and my blogposts credit for being his role model.

Patrick is diligently working on something that he promises to share as of January 2015. In the meantime you might want to visit and like his Facebook page Ma famille et mes ancêtres.

He doesn’t come right out and say it…..but I think I may soon be a godmother!

© 2014 Cathy Meder-Dempsey

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

6 thoughts on “I May Soon Be a Godmother!”

Leave a Reply

