Colleen Greene’s Genealogy Snapshot

Colleen Greene wrote an easy to follow guide on how she adds her Genealogy Snapshot Boxes to her blog and shared the post with the Genealogy Bloggers group on Facebook yesterday.

Colleen
WordPress for Genealogy: Adding a Lineage Snapshot Box to Blog Posts About Ancestors, Part I

I have little experience with html and am always glad for any help I can get. My blog is on Worpress.com and not self-hosted so I can’t do the nice box that she has. I’ve seen this on several of Colleen’s posts (such a cool idea) and wanted to do something similar. I didn’t want to steal her idea but when she posted her how-to I had to try it out.

First I changed the name to Genealogy Sketch and since I can’t use a box I added a short row of symbols to separate it from the upper part of this blogpost: 52 Ancestors: #52 Levina DOSS – Another Unmarried Mother and How She Helped Me Bring This Challenge Finale to an End with a Bang!

sketch
Screenshot from my 52 Ancestors: #52 post from 2014.

Colleen wrote, “You are welcome to copy and paste my code into your own blog to try it out and keep using it if you want.” Thank you Colleen. If you want to try doing your own or Colleen’s version visit her blogpost for instructions.

I am going to be adding my Genealogy Sketch to the new 52 Ancestors posts this year and when I have a few moments I’ll go in and add them to the ones from last year.

© 2015 Cathy Meder-Dempsey

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 36 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

4 thoughts on “Colleen Greene’s Genealogy Snapshot”

  1. Cathy, This is a great adaptation and a great way to summarize people in a post. I know nothing about code and am always afraid to even try changing it because I get dire warnings each time a WordPress theme is updated. It says that all will be lost if customizations have been done and child themes haven’t been used. Haven’t a clue how to do a child theme. I will have to try out something like you have done. 🙂

    Like

    1. Linda, I opened a new draft and pasted the first code block into the text view (html) and then switched to visual to see what it looked like. I still use the old WP dashboard and not their “improved posting experience”. Then I took out the spacing in the top part since I wanted it a little more compact. I’m keeping the draft as a template. I copy/pasted it into the featured post and then added the names and links in the bracketed spots that Colleen included.
      Without the box it really isn’t much formatting other than bold and italics and then adding the links to other posts if those relatives have been written about. And those are things we do all the time in our posts anyway.
      It’s the idea of putting everything together in one place like this that fascinated me even before she shared how to do it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

