Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #6 George Wyte LILLIE (1874-1943)

Albert Spencer LILLIE and Pernecia Elizabeth GLASS most likely married about 1871 and had their first child in in 1872 in Kentucky before moving about 1872-1874 to Pope County, Illinois, where they made their home and welcomed ten more children into the family, one girl and the rest boys. In the collection of old photographs scanned by Joe Rooney there were photos of two of the sons, several daughters-in-law, and even more of grandchildren.

George Wyte LILLIE was Albert and Pernecia’s second born, the first child born in Illinois.

lillie1lillie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The year 1895 written on the back of the photo (left) of G. W. LILLIE dates this photo at around the time George, age 21, married(1) Mary Belle STAFFORD (1876 – bef. 1917). They were the parents of three children. Their son Chester Beryl LILLIE (right) was born 11 September 1900 and died 1 March 1921. The photo of Chester with the fish may have been taken in the late 1910s. Can you also see the resemblance of father and son in these photos taken at about the same age?

George W. LILLIE was also married(2) Marie GREEN (1875-1929) in 1917. Almost immediately following her death he married(3) Jeanette (BALL) HILBISH (b. 1885 in England d. after 1943) about 1929 as they are seen together on the 1930 census as married. He did not have children with these wives.

bestwishescathy1

This is a spin-off of my 52 Ancestors: #14 Albert Spencer LILLIE (1848-1913) ~ Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can blogpost in which I featured a few photos from a collection of old photographs my 4C1R Joe Rooney shared with me. I asked Joe about using the photos and he kindly wrote, Please use them at your will.  I feel it is keeping it in the family and don’t need credit.  If anything, I appreciate your evaluations, identifications and detective work.  I’m hopeful you and yours enjoy them.  On a blog, in a book, above a cloud.”

Please contact me!
Are you related to a person mentioned in this post? Send an email to
openingdoorsinbrickwalls @ pt.lu or message me on my Facebook page
Opening Doors in Brick Walls.

Links to previous posts in this series may be found in Old Photographs

Joe Rooney kindly gave me permission to use these photographs on my blog.

Joe ROONEY wrote on 15 February 2015: This collection of photographs was scanned at 300 dpi color by me. The original photos were sent by Sandra Lillie about ten years ago after she found them cleaning out a relative’s garage in Southern Illinois, finding no other takers (suckers). She believes they were a collection by L Vance Lillie. Many of the pictures seemed to be removed from frames or were in albums evidenced by fading characteristics and may have been from other’s collections. I scanned the reverse if there was laboratory advertising or writing. Some of the authors’ identification may be figured out of the handwriting matches. I did not scan the reverse of photos where there was only a three digit number that I believe to be sequence numbers on a roll of film. I didn’t spot any obvious helpful commonalities.

© 2015 Cathy Meder-Dempsey

Save

Save

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

5 thoughts on “Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #6 George Wyte LILLIE (1874-1943)”

  1. Terrifying to consider someone pitching these into a trash can!
    How was my publishing post? Any thoughts? Suggestions for stuff to explore deeper? LMK (Hipster-speak for Let Me Know 😉 )

    Like

    1. Yes it is terrifying. I am so glad that my cousin gave me permission to share them. If all goes as I plan with the photos I may try to do a book for him. Your publishing post came at a good time and I’ll be following them. I’ve only tried converting my xml to pdf and docx using blogbooker. No other blog to book sites. For now I don’t have any suggestions for stuff to explore deeper but may think of something after your next post. Thank you so much for the hipster-speak explanation. I usually have to google these abbreviations. Really!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

