Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #8 Isaac Spencer LILLIE (1872-1932)

This is a spin-off of my 52 Ancestors: #14 Albert Spencer LILLIE (1848-1913) ~ Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can blogpost in which I featured a few photos from a collection of old photographs my 4C1R Joe Rooney shared with me. I asked Joe about using the photos and he kindly wrote, Please use them at your will.  I feel it is keeping it in the family and don’t need credit.  If anything, I appreciate your evaluations, identifications and detective work.  I’m hopeful you and yours enjoy them.  On a blog, in a book, above a cloud.”

Please contact me!
Are you related to a person mentioned in this post? Send an email to
openingdoorsinbrickwalls @ pt.lu or message me on my Facebook page
Opening Doors in Brick Walls.

Links to previous posts in this series may be found in Old Photographs

#8 Isaac Spencer LILLIE (1872-1932)

Albert Spencer LILLIE and Pernecia Elizabeth GLASS married 29 April 1872 in Pope County, Illinois. Their first child Isaac Spencer LILLIE was born 26 November 1872 in Kentucky or Illinois. By 1872-1874 the little family had put down roots in Pope County, Illinois, where they made their home and welcomed ten more children into the family, a daughter and nine more sons.

The oldest son, Isaac Spencer LILLIE (1872-1932) married Florence ROYALTY (1868-1946) in Pope County, Illinois, on 28 October 1891. They were the parents of five  children who lived long lives. Florence gave birth to six children, one died before 1900 as reflected in her 1900 and 1910 census information.

Old Penny Pictures

envelope These snapshots were in an envelope with this label ~ old Penny Pictures of Roy, Ruth, Reese, Mom & Dad. There may be another term to better describe the photographs but I haven’t found it. They were most likely taken in the very late 1890s or very early 1900s.

ikeflorandreeseIsaac Spencer “Ike” LILLIE with his wife Florence ROYALTY and with his oldest son Reese Gentry LILLIE (1892-1965).

floroyandikeFlorence (alone), with their son Samuel Royalty “Roy” LILLIE (1895-1972), and with her husband Ike.

IkeandroyIke (alone) and with his son Roy.

ikeandroywithframeThe photo of Isaac and Roy must have been a favorite as it was framed.

Their third son Raymond Egbert “Splitty” LILLIE (1904-1970) was born after this series of photos was taken.

Isaac and Florence also had two daughters, Ruth Joanna LILLIE (1907-1986) and Ruby Pernecia LILLIE (1909-1981). In the envelope with the penny photos, but taken about a half a dozen years later, was this cute photograph of Ruth which was also framed liked the one of Roy with his father Isaac.

ruthwithframeAs with the third son Raymond there was no photo (in this collection) of the youngest daughter Ruby during this time period. As the girls grew older more photos were taken of the inseparable sisters and will be featured at a later date as they were not part of the collection that was saved from the trash can.

Joe Rooney kindly gave me permission to use these photographs on my blog.

Joe ROONEY wrote on 15 February 2015: This collection of photographs was scanned at 300 dpi color by me. The original photos were sent by Sandra Lillie about ten years ago after she found them cleaning out a relative’s garage in Southern Illinois, finding no other takers (suckers). She believes they were a collection by L Vance Lillie. Many of the pictures seemed to be removed from frames or were in albums evidenced by fading characteristics and may have been from other’s collections. I scanned the reverse if there was laboratory advertising or writing. Some of the authors’ identification may be figured out of the handwriting matches. I did not scan the reverse of photos where there was only a three digit number that I believe to be sequence numbers on a roll of film. I didn’t spot any obvious helpful commonalities.

© 2015 Cathy Meder-Dempsey

Save

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 36 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

Leave a Reply

