Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #11 In Remembrance of Everett Isaac LILLIE (1915-1944)

On this Memorial Day 2015…

eil2
Everett with a photo of his grandmother Florence Royalty Lillie on desk at left.

….in remembrance of Everett Isaac LILLIE who gave his life 71 years ago while serving his country during World War II.

Genealogy Sketch

Name: Everett Isaac LILLIE (1915-1944)
Parents: Reese Gentry LILLY (1892-1965) and Dovie Deen (1894-1918)
Spouse: name unknown
Child: Patricia M. LILLIE (1944-2012)
Whereabouts: Massac County, IL; Detroit, MI; and France
Relationship to Cathy Meder-Dempsey: 4th cousin once removed

* Everett Isaac LILLIE
* son of Reese Gentry LILLIE
* grandson of Isaac Spencer LILLIE
* great-grandson of Albert Spencer LILLIE
* 2nd great-grandson of Martha C. Martissa GOWING
* 3rd great-grandson of Landon S. GOWING
* 2nd great-grand nephew of Clementine M. GOWING
* 1C3R of Mary M. DEMPSEY
* 2C2R of Laura Belle INGRAM
* 3C1R of Fred Rothwell DEMPSEY
* 4C of Fred Roosevelt DEMPSEY
* 4C1R of Cathy Meder-Dempsey

Everett was inducted into the U.S. Army in March 1941.

everett
Inspection Day outside when I was a coporal. ~ Everett I. Lillie

He wrote on the back of this photo, Inspection Day outside when I was a Corporal.

everettback
Inspection Day outside when I was a coporal. ~ Everett I. Lillie

Everett and his family were proud of his service as seen in these photos (top and below) taken in Detroit, Wayne County, Michigan, when he was on furlough and visited with his Uncle Raymond and Aunt Ruth.

eil1
Everett with his uncle Raymond (left) and his aunt Ruth Lillie (right).
eil3
Everett with his uncle Raymond (middle).

eil4Wounded on D-Day and Died Two Days Later

tribute
Courtesy of Joe Rooney

Publication: Metropolis News
First Published: July 15, 1948
Funeral services for Staff Sgt.
Everett I. Lillie were held Tuesday
afternoon in the Brookport Baptist
Church with Rev. Albert Moore of-
ficiating, followed by burial in the
Pell Cemetery.
S/Sgt. Lillie was born in 1915 to
Reese & Dovie Lillie and was in-
ducted into the U.S. Army in
March, 1941. He was wounded in
France on June 6, 1944 and died
two days later. He is survived by
his wife and daughter of New Jer-
sey, father, step-mother and several
siblings.

Everett is listed on the World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing for the State of Michigan with serial #36106054.

Gravemarker

marker
Courtesy of Joe Rooney

Everett I. Lillie
Illinois
S Sgt Co G 8 Inf 4 Inf Div
World War II PH
Sept 3 1915   June 8 1944

Location of marker: Pell Cemetery, Brookport, Massac County, Illinois

✻ ✻ ✻ ✻ ✻ ✻ ✻

This is a spin-off of my 52 Ancestors: #14 Albert Spencer LILLIE (1848-1913) ~ Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can blogpost in which I featured a few photos from a collection of old photographs my 4C1R Joe Rooney shared with me. I asked Joe about using the photos and he kindly wrote, Please use them at your will. I feel it is keeping it in the family and don’t need credit. If anything, I appreciate your evaluations, identifications and detective work. I’m hopeful you and yours enjoy them. On a blog, in a book, above a cloud.”

Please contact me!
Are you related to a person mentioned in this post? Send an email to
openingdoorsinbrickwalls @ pt.lu or message me on my Facebook page
Opening Doors in Brick Walls.

Links to posts in this series may be found in Old Photographs

© 2015, copyright Cathy Meder-Dempsey. All rights reserved.

Save

Save

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

Leave a Reply

