Slave Name Roll Project: RELEASING Willobey and Plimoth

Following my three part series on the slaves of my 5th grand-father James Sims I made a commitment to write a post on a monthly basis until I’ve RELEASED all of the names of slaves owned by my ancestors. Today I’m RELEASING Willobey and Plimoth.

I’m sorry to say I cannot give credit to the person who found the document I am using to release Willobey and Plimoth. While cleaning out my files I found three images of pages from Essex County. At the time I saved them I did not make a note of the source of the document. I believe it may have been attached to a tree on ancestry.com. I found it referenced as: Essex County Deeds and Wills 1711-1714 p. 79. I am sharing this transcript I made from the image as no transcription of the will was found online.

James LANDRUM may have been my 7th great-grandfather. His connection to my 5th great-grandfather of the same name, James LANDRUM, has not been researched or proven by me. Landrum Brick Wall

James LANDRUM born abt. 1671 in Turriff, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, married in Essex  (Old Rappahannoch) County, Virginia, on 10 August 1696 Mary BROWNE, daughter of William and Elizabeth BROWNE. He died after 11 April 1738 when he wrote his will and before 18 December 1739 when his will was presented to court by his widow and the executors mentioned.

In the name of God Amen I James Landrum of
the County of Essex and parish of St. Anne being perfect sound sence and
memory do ordain Constitute and appoint this my last will and Testa=
ment first I bequeave my soul to God who gave it me and my Body to this
Earth to be decently Buryed by my Excutors Impes I give and Bequeave
to my son Saml Landrum that tract of Land Whereon he now lives with
all Impurtenances there unto belonging to him and his Heirs forever
Item I give my son James Landrum that tract of Land where on he now
lives with all appurtenances there unto belonging to him and his heirs
forever Item I Lend this tract of land whereon I now live to Mary my
Loving wife During her Natural life with all my other Estate goods and
Chattles that I now am possest with and after her deceas I give this said Land
to my son Patrick Landrum with all Impurtenances there unto belonging
with my Negrow Man Willobey to him and his Heirs forever Item I give
and bequeave to my Daughter Darcos Landrum my negrow boy Plimoth to
her and her heirs Lawfuly Begotten of her body for ever Item I give Charles
Dhisson Sen. twelve Acres of Land out of James and Saml Landrum tracts
of land to him and his heirs foever Item all the rest of my Estate give to Mary
my Loving wife to Dispose of as She thinks proper Item I also appoint
William Clark and Henry Beazley or Either of them my whole and Sole Ex=
ecutors of this my Last will and Testament In Witness here of I have hereunto
set my hand and fixt my Seal this 11th day of April in the year of our Lord
God one Thousand Seven hundred thirty and Eight
Signed Sealed and published
in presents of us                                             his
William Clark                                     James X Landrum
            his                                                       mark
Henry X Beazley
         mark

Essex County, Virginia [added to the bottom of the image]. The next two images had page numbers 220 and 221 at top which could mean the above was page 219.

Note: Seen as X above, the mark left by Henry Beazley was an H and by James Landrum was an E rotated once clockwise.

© 2015 Cathy Meder-Dempsey

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

Leave a Reply

