Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #18 Olive ROYALTY 1871-1949

This is a spin-off of my 52 Ancestors: #14 Albert Spencer LILLIE (1848-1913) ~ Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can blogpost in which I featured a few photos from a collection of old photographs my 4C1R Joe Rooney shared with me. I asked Joe about using the photos and he kindly wrote, Please use them at your will.  I feel it is keeping it in the family and don’t need credit.  If anything, I appreciate your evaluations, identifications and detective work.  I’m hopeful you and yours enjoy them.  On a blog, in a book, above a cloud.”

#18 Olive ROYALTY 1871-1949

Olive ROYALTY, born 8 July 1871 in Illinois, was the youngest daughter of Samuel L. ROYALTY and Joanna PALMER. Her mother died between 1871-1874 and Olive was raised by her step-mother Johanna PADDOCK.

youngoliveThis photograph was labeled Irene (left) and Olive (right). The girls resemble each other but I have not been able to figure out who Irene may have been. At first glance of the back I was hoping to read Florence, Olive’s sister, instead of Irene. Olive was raised in Pope County, Illinois. Could she have visited Girard, Kansas, as a young girl? Or did the family live there for a while?

Olive married John R. BOSWELL on 12 June 1892 at Prospect Church, Golconda, Pope County, Illinois. They had only one child, Guy Royalty BOSWELL, born 14 June 1893 in Golconda.

1898caOlive
Olive ROYALTY with her husband John R. BOSWELL and their son Guy Royalty BOSWELL ca. 1897.

Olive, John and Guy were living in Albuquerque, Bernalillo County, New Mexico, at the time of the 1900 census. Before 1910 they moved to Los Angeles, California, where they lived the rest of their lives.

olderolive
Olive ROYALTY, photo taken in Los Angeles
olderolive2
An older Olive (ROYALTY) BOSWELL

Joe Rooney kindly gave me permission to use these photographs on my blog.

Links to previous posts in this series may be found in Old Photographs

Please contact me!
Are you related to a person mentioned in this post? Send an email to
openingdoorsinbrickwalls @ pt.lu or message me on my Facebook page
Opening Doors in Brick Walls.

Joe ROONEY wrote on 15 February 2015: This collection of photographs was scanned at 300 dpi color by me. The original photos were sent by Sandra Lillie about ten years ago after she found them cleaning out a relative’s garage in Southern Illinois, finding no other takers (suckers). She believes they were a collection by L Vance Lillie. Many of the pictures seemed to be removed from frames or were in albums evidenced by fading characteristics and may have been from other’s collections. I scanned the reverse if there was laboratory advertising or writing. Some of the authors’ identification may be figured out of the handwriting matches. I did not scan the reverse of photos where there was only a three digit number that I believe to be sequence numbers on a roll of film. I didn’t spot any obvious helpful commonalities.

© 2015 Cathy Meder-Dempsey

Save

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

2 thoughts on “Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #18 Olive ROYALTY 1871-1949”

  1. Here’s my plan, facts and some more theories about Irene’s last name where she appears in the photo where they appear to be aged ten, plus or minus. I studied the 1880 US Census and noted along with the thinned Samuel Royalty household, that his son Chester was residing with the in-laws, the Hodges. That gave me another last name aside from Royalty and Boswell, to plug into the library edition of ancestry.com. The results were fascinating, but probably two red herrings.

    Viletta Irene Hodge and she was from Cook County (Chicago).

    The next hit was an Elva Irene Proud that married Lee P. Hodge. The 1905 Kansas State Census. They subsequently showed in the 1920/30 US Census in San Bernardino, California, she died 13Feb43 and reported as being born 27Mar67. Unfortunately, she was from an Illinois county up near Peoria. Maybe there is a connection with Samuel’s grandkid that moved there from Pope County.

    And I looked several pages either side of the Royalty’s in the census and didn’t spot any more Irenes.

    I still don’t know Irene’s connection, please doublecheck my work .

    Like

    1. Thank you Joe for looking into Irene and her connection to Olive. I’ll have a look at what you wrote. There are still many photos left and the Hodge connection does fit in. Julia’s sister Anna was married to Dr. James A. Crow – there were photos of this family in the batch. Also Johanna Paddock, 2nd wife of Samuel Royalty, was living with Julia and Anna’s family in 1870. There may be more connections to make before we get to the end of the series. Appreciate your keeping up with my posts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

