Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #21 Fay ROYALTY 1897-1925

This is a spin-off of my 52 Ancestors: #14 Albert Spencer LILLIE (1848-1913) ~ Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can blogpost in which I featured a few photos from a collection of old photographs my 4C1R Joe Rooney shared with me. I asked Joe about using the photos and he kindly wrote, Please use them at your will.  I feel it is keeping it in the family and don’t need credit.  If anything, I appreciate your evaluations, identifications and detective work.  I’m hopeful you and yours enjoy them.  On a blog, in a book, above a cloud.”

#21 Fay ROYALTY (1897-1925)

They say one man’s trash is another man’s treasure. I’ve been able to determine this baby girl has descendants. Do they also have a copy of this photograph taken in 1897?

fayroyaltyBaby Fay was held, most likely by her mother, while the photographer took the long exposure picture. In Fay’s case her “hidden mother” was sitting sideways to the camera instead of head on with the child on her lap as most were taken. Is that a bit of the mother’s neck we see in the upper right corner?

Photographs of Fay, the daughter of Charles W. ROYALTY and Lizzie M. WALTER, may be rare as she died at the age of 27 years. The spelling of her first name on the photograph was also seen in the 1900 Pope IL, 1910 McCracken KY, and 1920 Creek OK census.

Although her life was short she married in 1915 at the age of 18 and had two children in 1918 and 1920 before her death in 1925 or 1926. Her son Maurice Charles CURRAY died in 1942 at the age of 21 at sea, off the coast of Guadalcanal in the Solomon Islands, Pacific Ocean. Her daughter Thelma Elizabeth continued the line with her daughter Sheila Faye SHAW (who may have also been known by her step-father’s surname KIRK). In the 1946 obituary of Fay’s widowed husband Charles Burt CURRAY his wife’s name was spelled “Faye” and this may be a spelling used only after her death.

Please contact me!
Are you related to a person mentioned in this post? Send an email to
openingdoorsinbrickwalls @ pt.lu or message me on my Facebook page
Opening Doors in Brick Walls.

Links to previous posts in this series may be found in Old Photographs

Joe Rooney kindly gave me permission to use these photographs on my blog.

Joe ROONEY wrote on 15 February 2015: This collection of photographs was scanned at 300 dpi color by me. The original photos were sent by Sandra Lillie about ten years ago after she found them cleaning out a relative’s garage in Southern Illinois, finding no other takers (suckers). She believes they were a collection by L Vance Lillie. Many of the pictures seemed to be removed from frames or were in albums evidenced by fading characteristics and may have been from other’s collections. I scanned the reverse if there was laboratory advertising or writing. Some of the authors’ identification may be figured out of the handwriting matches. I did not scan the reverse of photos where there was only a three digit number that I believe to be sequence numbers on a roll of film. I didn’t spot any obvious helpful commonalities.

© 2015 Cathy Meder-Dempsey

Save

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

2 thoughts on “Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #21 Fay ROYALTY 1897-1925”

Leave a Reply

