Happy St. Nicholas Day – de Kleeschen kënnt op Eechternoach

Happy St. Nicholas Day! Thirteen years ago today, on December 6th, 2002, I uploaded my first GEDCOM file to Rootsweb’s WorldConnect Project! I remember the day so well because it was my St. Nick’s gift to friends and family who had helped me get started. It’ll never be ready…share as soon as you can and as long as you can!

Fifty-two years ago I experienced my first St. Nicholas Day ever in Echternach, Luxembourg. My father Fred Roosevelt Dempsey took pictures of the arrival of St. Nicholas, de Kleeschen, by boat on the Sauer River and in the cavalcade through town.  Enjoy!

Stnick1 Stnick2 Stnick3 Stnick4 Stnick6 Stnick7 Stnick8© 2015 Cathy Meder-Dempsey

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

12 thoughts on “Happy St. Nicholas Day – de Kleeschen kënnt op Eechternoach”

  1. Wonderful photos taken by your father. I appreciate your suggestion of sharing as often as you can and nit waiting for it all to be ready. I still need to upload my Gedcom to rootsweb. It goes on the list to complete before the New Year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Linda. I remember I was more scared of the red and the black men (Houseker) than excited. My siblings and I were waiting at the town square for the procession to come while my Dad followed them the entire way taking the pictures.

      Like

Leave a Reply

