Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #43 Unknown Family

Unk2Women Rooney collectionUNKadultfemale2adultmales Rooney collectionCould these be three, four or five generations of one family? The woman and girl resemble each other and could be mother and daughter. In the second photograph the man in the back looks much older than the man and woman in front of him. Are they a couple, brother and sister, or mother and son?

There is no identification on either of these photographs. The cardboard is the same and the backs are identical in color which tells me they may have been made at the same time. Or could these cabinet cards have been reprinted and mounted at the same time? Are the clothes seen in both photos from the same time period? Could this be 1870s or 1880s?

More about this collection, how it came to be in my possession,
and links to previous posts in the series can be found here.

Please contact me!
Are you related to a person mentioned in this post? Send an email to
openingdoorsinbrickwalls @ pt.lu or message me on my Facebook page
Opening Doors in Brick Walls.

© 2016, copyright Cathy Meder-Dempsey. All rights reserved.

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 36 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

10 thoughts on “Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #43 Unknown Family”

  1. I am not good at dating photographs, but these do look pretty early. As for the people, I think the women on the left in both photographs look very similar—perhaps mother and daughter, or the same person taking many years later. The two in the top definitely seem like mother and daughter—just how they are leaning into each other seems very intimate. The bottom three could be three siblings? The woman and the man in front look similar. But I’m no expert!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. All the same thoughts I had except for in the bottom photo I thought the man in the back looked much older than the man in the front. The man and the woman in the front both have a broad nose compared to the man behind them.Maybe the man in the back only looks older because of the beard. I’m no expert either. Thank you Amy.

      Like

  2. The guy on the right side bears a resemblance to Isaac Spencer Lillie, maybe Albert Spencer Lilly, his father, and maybe a if we’re lucky, maybe Wyatt and Martissa sitting with him. I can only wish and hope.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. In the collection, I believe Grand Paw Lillie is Albert Spencer Lillie because if you squint the more certain tintype of he and Ms Ropes look the same. It seems he always was sporting a beard. But the fellow on the right, in my opinion looks like or bears a resemblance to Isaac Spencer Lillie in the face but I judge him not to be Albert. Maybe a relationship on the Glass side? I really want to look at Sandra Lillie’s wall where she says she has filled with old family portraits. She’s in Ft Lauderdale. I’ll bug her again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

