Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #48 Raymond Egbert “Splitty” LILLIE (1904-1970)

The third son of Isaac Spencer “Ike” LILLIE and Florence ROYALTY, Raymond Egbert LILLIE (1904-1970) never married. We first saw him with his brother Roy and Uncle George in Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #45 Three LILLIE Men.

I don’t know where he got the nickname “Splitty” but he and his brother Roy were a spiffy dressers.

royandraymondinfrontofcarRoy, left, and Raymond, right, in Detroit, Michigan ca. 1930

Perhaps taken the same day the photograph (below) was likely reproduced from the negative. It is in better condition and was not included in this collection. My cousin Joe shared it on Facebook.

rayinfrontofcarIt looks like Raymond is wearing the hat his brother Roy held in his hand in the previous photo. It may also be the same hat Roy was wearing when they posed with their uncle George Wyte LILLIE in 1930.

1920sRaymondIkeRoyFor car buffs, is it the same car in both pictures? With so little detail can you identify it or them? What is with the headlight?

More about this collection, how it came to be in my possession,
and links to previous posts in the series can be found here.

Please contact me!
Are you related to a person mentioned in this post? Send an email to
openingdoorsinbrickwalls @ pt.lu or message me on my Facebook page
Opening Doors in Brick Walls.

© 2016, copyright Cathy Meder-Dempsey. All rights reserved.

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

8 thoughts on “Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #48 Raymond Egbert “Splitty” LILLIE (1904-1970)”

  1. I don’t know how it started, but my Lillie Aunts and Uncles had these pet names for each other. I don’t remember them all, my brothers give me quizzical looks when I probe their memories. My Uncle Roy, Samuel Royalty Lillie was “Brush” and either my Mom or Ruth Lillie was “Neat.” I have a hazy recollection that Uncle Roy’s name was the sturdiness of his hair before it all fell out. Uncle Raymond absolutely hated his middle name “Egbert” I wished I had some notion why his parents chose it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looking at the shadows, it has to be the same day and time and probably automobile. Even the photographer’s bent elbow is the same. Sent email to Ford Model A owner, he will know.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

