Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #50 Unidentified Bearded Man

There are still a few unidentified photographs in this collection. The photographer of this picture was James A. Mullen (1834-1919) who had a business in Lexington, Fayette County, Kentucky. Mullen established his business in Lexington at about the time of the Civil War.

Doesn’t this bearded man look like someone you’ve seen in a history book? How would you date this picture?

UNKseatedmaleKY Rooney collection

More about this collection, how it came to be in my possession,
and links to previous posts in the series can be found here.

Please contact me!
Are you related to a person mentioned in this post? Send an email to
openingdoorsinbrickwalls @ pt.lu or message me on my Facebook page
Opening Doors in Brick Walls.

© 2016, copyright Cathy Meder-Dempsey. All rights reserved.

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

9 thoughts on “Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #50 Unidentified Bearded Man”

    1. I haven’t had the time to do in-depth reading on Maureen’s blog. I thought I had it on my reader but looks like not. 😦 I have checked some of the unidentified photos through Google Images as she suggests. Thanks Amberly, I’ll take another look at Maureen’s blog.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I wish there was some kind of chart for men’s and women’s fashion by period and by the piece of clothing. There is so much to consider. Not only the clothing but also hairstyle. I was thinking late 1870s but can’t give you a good reason why.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

