Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #52 A Collection of Tintypes

Some of the older photographs saved from the trash can were tintypes. Seven of these have been featured in previous posts and two of them remain unidentified.

TintypefrontFrom left to right, top row: Otterbein E. PADDACK (ca. 1878), unidentified man, Alnie W. ROYALTY (ca. 1888). Second row: Florence ROYALTY (ca. 1874), Alnie W. ROYALTY (ca. 1893), Albert Spencer LILLIE (ca. 1872). Bottom row: Green B. GLASS (bef. 1897), unidentified couple, Charles W. ROYALTY (ca. 1885). A tenth tinplate, not included in this scan, was of Mary E. PADDOCK (bef. 1855).

TintypebackThe backsides of the tintypes have some information which helped in the identification. The two unidentified pictures will be featured in the coming weeks. The man in the middle of the top row seems familiar – enough for me to do a new round of comparisons.

More about this collection, how it came to be in my possession,
and links to previous posts in the series can be found here.

Please contact me!
Are you related to a person mentioned in this post? Send an email to
openingdoorsinbrickwalls @ pt.lu or message me on my Facebook page
Opening Doors in Brick Walls.

© 2016, copyright Cathy Meder-Dempsey. All rights reserved.

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

9 thoughts on “Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #52 A Collection of Tintypes”

  1. You have quite a collection of photographs. I find it fascinating to analyse them and peruse them contemplating who the unnamed ones might be. Hopefully, you will eventually find the names for the few that are a mystery.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m so glad you are doing these in bite sized chunks. Now I see the unnamed couple as Charles W. Royalty and wife Lizzie M. Walter. It makes sense with a tintype of their child Alnie in the collection. He is sitting back in the chair with his wife and although some difference in the eyebrows and chin, I think he is sitting more upright by himself. Maybe makes those features more pronounced. But I could be wrong. I’ too, have seen that double chin somewhere in the other tintype, I’ll ruminate on it. Thanks! Cousin Joe

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought the picture of the couple was too old compared to the one we have of Charles and Lizzie with their son Alnie. Maybe this older one (the man’s ears don’t stand out as much as Charles?) is a wedding photo of his brother Chester and wife Julia Hannah Hodge. We don’t have a photo of them but there is the photo of the three children which I haven’t done yet.
      I don’t know what it is about the photo of the unidentified man but it seems “familiar.”
      You’re welcome Joe! Cousin Cathy

      Like

Leave a Reply

