Extra! Extra! – News from the Archives départementales du Bas-Rhin

I mentioned in an earlier post that the images found on the Archives départementales du Bas-Rhin (67) site are under certain restrictions. Any utilization other than for private use, even non-commerical, is subject to a signed license agreement. What this means is I cannot share images of the records on my blog.

I’ve been working through my source citations adding as many layers as necessary to direct my reader to the actual document and had planned on writing a post on how to use the site. While putting the finishing touches to my latest post on the RUPP-FETZER family I discovered there have been changes made to their site. As I write this the news has been added to their site.

Bas-RhinNEWS

  1. The Adeloch (parish and civil records) and Ellenbach (census) applications are now available online on all supports including tablets or phones.
  2. More records have been added and can be viewed using their new and improved viewer. A function to embed images has been added as well as the collaborative indexation of images.
  3. More records have been added to their online inventory.
  4. A Personal Space has been added where you can register to help with indexation and save images.

The best part of these improvements to the site is the ability to embed images. This will allow users to upload to their website or on their blog, one or more images from the digitized collections. The image will be available in high quality with a built-in zoom. With the use of this technology, it will not be necessary to purchase a specific license for public display of images.

Warning: Some disruption may occur on 17 and 18 May 2016 relating to the updating of content and the higher traffic on the website.

I have not yet been able to embed an image. In the post I had planned to publish today the embedded code created a link to the image on the Archives site and not an embedded image in the blogpost. It will probably be a few days before the feature is live and working correctly.

bestwishescathy1

© 2016, copyright Cathy Meder-Dempsey. All rights reserved.

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

9 thoughts on “Extra! Extra! – News from the Archives départementales du Bas-Rhin”

  1. I haven’t even begun to research (on my own) my Alsatian ancestors. It seems so daunting. They are from Muespach, Haut-Rhin. You give me courage for when the time comes for me to tackle this project.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Luanne they are so easy to use once you realize it is like pulling a book off a library shelf and leafing through it. The Bas-Rhin database even looks like a shelf of books. Haut-Rhin doesn’t have the look but I’m sure it’ll be just as easy to use. Good luck and thank you for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

