Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #57 Samuel Royalty “Roy” LILLIE 1895-1979

Let’s begin Memorial Weekend with this group photo of Samuel Royalty “Roy” LILLIE with his Barber Staff at Camp Lewis, as it was first known, in the state of Washington during World War I. I have no idea if the men seen with Roy in this photograph survived their military service or died while serving their country.

Thousands of the nation’s youth were mobilized and trained for war service at Camp Lewis which was hastily constructed in 1917. The description on the back of this photograph places Roy in the barber shop as the Chief of Staff (head honcho). Sixty thousand young men are said to have been there originally to train for World War I. That would mean a lot of haircuts!

Roy in the front is wearing the same winter coat he had on in the previous post with his rifle. Perhaps they were taken at the same time.

RoyLilliegroupFtLouisRoy added a bit of a description to the back of this photograph.

RoyLilliegroupFtLouisbackFort Lewis, Wash.
This is my Barber Staff. I am the
head cheese guy. Stokes.
Gunn. Laurence.
all regular army men to not ropes(?)
Stokes is from Temple Hill, Ill. I met him in Huurra(?)

More about this collection, how it came to be in my possession,
and links to previous posts in the series can be found here.

Please contact me!
Are you related to a person mentioned in this post? Send an email to
openingdoorsinbrickwalls @ pt.lu or message me on my Facebook page
Opening Doors in Brick Walls.

© 2016, copyright Cathy Meder-Dempsey. All rights reserved.

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

Leave a Reply

