Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #63 Taking a Walk in Detroit

This photograph of Samuel Royalty “Roy” LILLIE (1895-1979) taking a walk in Detroit, Michigan, was snapped in the late 1930s. This is an estimate made from the women’s dress in the background.

Cousin Joe, whose mother was Roy’s sister, wrote, “Uncle Roy was a ‘Dandy’ I believe is the correct term. Had a T-Bird he used to let us drive on the backroads (fast!) and I was elated when we discovered for a moment we had the same shoe size and I got to wear his saddle loafers, the black penny loafers with a fat white band in the middle.”

As we’ve seen in many of the photos, Roy lived during an era when hats were still in fashion. And didn’t they make him look dapper?

UPDATE: A comment by a reader brought “sidewalk photography” to my attention. This type of photography had its heydays during the Great Depression. Also known as street or walking photography.

MRIN21907 LillieSamuelRoyaltywalking Rooney CollectionOther photographs of Samuel Royalty LILLIE:
#53 Samuel Royalty “Roy” LILLIE 1895-1979 (young Roy)
#54 Samuel Royalty “Roy” LILLIE 1895-1979 (in uniform)
#55 Samuel Royalty “Roy” LILLIE 1895-1979
(portrait with hat)
#56 Samuel Royalty “Roy” LILLIE 1895-1979 (in uniform with rifle)
#57 Samuel Royalty “Roy” LILLIE 1895-1979 (barber staff)
#58 Samuel Royalty “Roy” LILLIE 1895-1979 (Liberty trucks)
#59 Samuel Royalty “Roy” LILLIE 1895-1979 (in New Orleans)
#61 Bartender and Owner of Brazell’s Bar in Detroit
#62 Samuel Roy LILLIE and his Retirement Plaque
#63 Taking a Walk in Detroit

More about this collection, how it came to be in my possession,
and links to previous posts in the series can be found here.

Please contact me!
Are you related to a person mentioned in this post? Send an email to
openingdoorsinbrickwalls @ pt.lu or message me on my Facebook page
Opening Doors in Brick Walls.

© 2016, copyright Cathy Meder-Dempsey. All rights reserved.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 36 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

8 thoughts on “Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #63 Taking a Walk in Detroit”

  1. I have a similar picture of my great grandfather. My grandma told me that photographers used to take pictures of people on the sidewalk and then try to sell them to the subjects. I accepted the story at the time, and seeing this picture you posted made me think about it again. I wonder if that was true.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a copy of a photo of my great-grandparents taken while they were walking down a sidewalk in Charleston WV. I was told the photo was featured in the newspaper but without a date and the name of the paper I never tried to find the article.

      After reading your comment I looked up sidewalk photography and found what your grandma told you was true. These photos had their heydays during the Great Depression. Thank you Kristen helping me to learn something new.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Today we would say “street photography” ;-). I love to read the stories behind the old pictures from the trash can. Unfortunately I have little photos from my family from this time, although my great-grandfather was, amongst other professions, photograph. Have a nice summer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

