Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #75 A Group of Women

In the group photo below Florence ROYALTY (1868-1946), wife of Isaac Spencer LILLIE (1872-1932) was identified by her grandson Joe Rooney as the woman standing in the back row in front of the right side of the doorframe. No other persons have been identified.

unknowngroupwithflorenceroyaltylilie1 The digital copy I had of the photograph was not high quality and I could not zoom in on the faces. I got out the original and scanned it at 600 dpi which gave me a much larger file and image to work with. The images seen here are low resolution.

I used the auto adjust tool on PicMonkey to brighten it up a bit. The woman identified as Florence resembles the older Florence seen in the 1920 family reunion photograph.

unknowngroupwithflorenceroyaltylilie2All persons in the photo are female except perhaps the small child standing off to the right side. I wonder if this may be a little boy who sneaked into the picture. His face is blurred and the longer I look at it the more it seems like an optical illusion. He might have been caught while looking forward and then quickly turned his head away from the group.

I estimate from the clothing the women are wearing that this was taken in the 1890s. However, I have a photo of Florence from 1898 in which she looks much younger. Or maybe it is because her hair has a slightly puffy bouffant look below and is combed flat in the group photo.

floroyandikeCould the group photo have been taken in 1899 following the death of Florence’s mother-in-law Pernecia Elizabeth GLASS (1852-1899)? I considered this since the woman thought to be Florence appears to be wearing mourning. Could the dark clothes and the different hairstyle make her look so much older than in the photos taken a year earlier?

floingroupPuffy sleeves and slim sleeves. Bonnets and hats. High collars, square collars, round collars. Handbags and drawstring purses. A great variety of dresses. Did women’s fashion change so much during the 1890s?

bestwishescathy1

More about this collection, how it came to be in my possession,
and links to previous posts in the series can be found here.

Please contact me!
Are you related to a person mentioned in this post? Send an email to
openingdoorsinbrickwalls @ pt.lu or message me on my Facebook page
Opening Doors in Brick Walls.

© 2016, copyright Cathy Meder-Dempsey. All rights reserved.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

6 thoughts on “Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #75 A Group of Women”

Leave a Reply

