My Elf on the Shelf Will Do Lookups

Dear international readers and followers,
you now have the ability to instantly translate my content to a language of your choice using the Google Translate Widget on the sidebar at right.

The holiday season is a bit behind schedule in our household. Yesterday was the second Sunday of Advent and the only seasonal decoration in our home is the Advent wreath.

2016-12-04adventLast July we had water damage in our master bedroom. Fortunately, it’s covered by our home insurance. Instead of having the repair work done this year and then have the other bedrooms done as planned next year, we decided to take a bite in the sour apple (in den sauren Apfel beißen) and get it all done at once. I spent two weeks, an hour or two a day, packing up everything in the bedrooms. Our closet had to be taken apart and stored in the garage. Extra furniture was given away to a good cause.

The painters came to work towards the end of November. They spent a full week removing wallpaper, doing preparation work for hanging the new wallpaper, painting, and putting in the carpet to replace the damaged one in the master bedroom.

When they were finished, we spent several days cleaning and moving our bed and closet back upstairs. We’d spent more than a week sleeping on our mattress in front of the fireplace in the living room. Sound romantic? It would be if we hadn’t had to get up early to let the painters in each morning.

Last Saturday we carried all the packed up boxes from the basement garage up two flights of stairs to the bedrooms. Stick with me, I’m coming to the reason for this post.

We’ve lived in our house for 36 years. The kids are grown and living on their own. Over the years, my genealogy material has been moved from the dining room to the living room to one or the other bedroom upstairs. As I unpack everything I’m going to finally be able to get it organized in my new office. Pictures will be coming soon.

In the meantime, I re-discovered some books I received from RMSR, a SIMS researcher who sent me her entire collection several years ago. Nearly 40 pounds of books, notebooks, and papers pertaining to her research on the SIMS line of Kanawha, Nicholas, and Fayette Counties in West Virginia.

2016-12-03shelvesWhile putting them on the shelves in my new office I thought I’d play Santa’s elf and offer a small gift to my readers. I will do lookups in the following books for the first five readers who comment below.

Lookups in these books:
Annotated 1810 Census for Kanawha County, (West) Virginia,
1991

Annotated 1820 Census for Kanawha County, (West) Virginia, April 1992
Annotated 1830 Census for Kanawha County, (West) Virginia, 1993
Annotated 1840 Census for Kanawha County, (West) Virginia, 1993
Annotated 1850 Census for Kanawha County, (West) Virginia, 1987
Annotated 1860 Census for Kanawha County, (West) Virginia, 1983
Published by the Kanawha Valley Genealogical Society, Inc.

Do you have ancestors who lived in Kanawha County before West Virginia became a state? These books were published between 1983-1992 and include annotations (not for all households) made by researchers who were members of the Kanawha Valley Genealogical Society.

Please leave a comment with the full name of your ancestor for my elf on the shelf. We’ll reciprocate with the entry and annotations for the person and/or family. If my elf isn’t too busy, we might even do more than five queries.

bestwishescathy1

© 2016, copyright Cathy Meder-Dempsey. All rights reserved.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

10 thoughts on “My Elf on the Shelf Will Do Lookups”

  1. Amy! You can’t beat my procrastinating record. Photos in Cathy’s possession were staring at me from a box on a chair in the dining room for ten years after they were sent to me. When I got around to it, I did some things right and some things wrong. I scanned at 300 dpi, but now I believe higher resolution would have helped identifying small details and possible hints in some of them. Cathy can chime in here and judge. I am very thick skinned and I’m open to more scanning suggestions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m just glad you did them, Joe! For blog quality the 300 dpi were fine. But there are about three tintypes left to write about that I will probably have to re-scan. Since you sent them to me I can always get out the original and use a magnifying glass. I’m also open to scanning suggestions.

      Like

  2. You are doing a huge favor for VA folks – I am asking advice of a different nature. I have pages of old French documents, scanned and not translated. Since the materials are not typed, Google does me no good. Do you have any contacts who might do that for me, look at the data and tell me (even paraphrased) what they say? Some are from 1700s, found in Antwerp archives. Thanks for any suggestions – I have tried French college professors and others already. Nancy

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Referring to your post re Kanawha County census records, my ancestors on my father’s side settled Kanawha County. William Morris was the first permanet settler, his son-in-law John Jones and my direct line. In 1810, James Samuel Shelton married Frances the daughter of John Jones and Frances Morris. I know most everything about the Morris and Jones lines, but any records available for the Shelton family would be appreciated. Especially would like the identity of the father of James Samuel Shelton, believed to be Samuel Shelton. Thank you greatly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

