Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #81 Lake & Grotto

Mixed in with the photographs and postcards of this collection was this illustration titled Lake & Grotto. From the digital copy, it looks like a postcard. The back was not scanned. I was unable to find a geographical location for this lake.

unkdrawinglakegrottosceneSince cousin Joe sent me the entire collection, I can easily study the actual photo or postcard. In this case, this is not a postcard. It is printed on paper which is a bit heavier than normal copy paper and has a gloss or shine to it. It is flimsier than parchment paper.

I’ve come to realize that I should have been sharing the size of the items. This print is 4 1/2 inches wide and 3 inches high. The size and feel remind me of antique Catholic holy cards. There is no writing or printed matter on the back of this print.

Two women with parasols are sitting across from a man in a boat on the lake and two pelicans are standing on the bank of the lake. In the background, on a rise, is an eight-sided pavilion. To the right is a smaller half hidden pavilion and to the left a long building partially hidden behind a cluster of trees.

Any guesses on whether this is a drawing of a fictional place or a place which actually exists somewhere?

bestwishescathy1

More about this collection, how it came to be in my possession,
and links to previous posts in the series can be found here.

Please contact me!
Are you related to a person mentioned in this post? Send an email to
openingdoorsinbrickwalls @ pt.lu or message me on my Facebook page
Opening Doors in Brick Walls.

© 2016, copyright Cathy Meder-Dempsey. All rights reserved.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

9 thoughts on “Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #81 Lake & Grotto”

    1. I tried the Google thing too but Grotto kind of messed up the search. I tried with Illinois, Michigan, New Mexico, and California as these were places the family lived or visited. Thanks for the link, Robert. I was having difficulties explaining how it looks and feels.

      Like

  1. I also tried a Google Image search after cropping the picture to focus on the structure, but nothing similar came up. It’s not familiar looking to me, but it sure looks pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No oars, outboard motor, maybe Ole Evinrude on a nearby lake in Wisconsin. Nothing found under Ripley nor Okauchee Lake. No result in image search on google. But, it seems to be a colored print and I looked for an obvious artist’s signature in the grass to no avail. But in the tree leaves to the left, is there a vestige “eey” signature? If indeed an outboard, it is after 1907. I give up.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The engraving is stylized and honestly, something similar could be found in so many locations. I ran the picture through a TinEye search that matches up with similar photographs on the internet and it did not produce any results. Good luck with your search, Cathy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

