2016 A Year in Review and What’s Coming in 2017

I love numbers! Once upon a time, I wanted to be a math teacher and worked as a credit analyst for a few years before becoming a stay at home Mom. I still get to play with them, in genealogy and when analyzing the stats on my blog.

Total Views

Exactly 20,500 visitors came to my blog during 2016. Total views on were 37,046 compared to 27,673 in 2015. The increase was about the same as from 2014 to 2015. If all goes well I will be celebrating 100,000 total views since I began blogging by mid-2017.

Viewers came from 98 countries compared to 84 in 2015. Below are the top 10 countries.

2016mapviewsMy top 10 posts during the year

  1. 6 AncestryDNA Notes for Easier Comparison (I reached my all-time high of 1,198 views in one day on 3 October 2016 when this was posted)
  2. How I Use and Manage AncestryDNA Notes
  3. How to Find Your 18th Century Immigrant’s Signature
  4. Slave Name Roll Project: RELEASING Amy, Addison, Henry and his Enslaved Family
  5. James SIMS (1754-1845) Pioneer of Nicholas County, West Virginia (originally written in 2002, updated and re-posted in 2013)
  6. Slave Name Roll Project: RELEASING Cato, Sold on Christmas Day 1821
  7. Henry RUPE’s Estate and his Widow Catherine’s Last Days
  8. 52 Ancestors: #47 Johnny CASH’s 1C5R – Kesiah LIVELY (from 2014, this posts gets lots of hits due to my famous cousin)
  9. Where I Found the Land Records of my RUPE Ancestors in Maryland
  10. Here We Go Dancing ’round the Hill

I don’t know if I should be surprised or not with the success of my two top posts. Writing posts on DNA, a subject I have only started learning about, was not planned. I haven’t done the test but have been administering my brother’s DNA results for the past seven months. There is so much I need to learn about DNA and how it will help in my genealogy research. I’d like to be able to write at least one post in 2017 about a great discovery made through DNA. Don’t we all?

The success of my posts for the Slave Name Roll Project helped me to continue searching for more names to write about each month and this will be continued in 2017.

The Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can series will soon be coming to an end. Fifty posts were written in 2016 from #37 to #84 with a couple being done in two parts. Each week I learned more about vintage photography and fashion of the era. I think this shows in the latest posts I’ve written. Before completing the series I may re-visit some of the earlier photographs which did not include descriptions.

Followers

200followersDuring the last few days of 2016, my WordPress followers went over 200. At the end of the year, I had 203 WordPress followers (compared to 126 in 2015) and 77  email followers (compared to 45 in 2015).

Top 5 Referrers

The top five referrers were Facebook, search engines, RootsWeb, Tangled Roots and Trees, and the WordPress Reader. #1 Facebook is not surprising as I use it to promote my blog. #3 RootsWeb reflects how often people view my GEDCOM file and then visit my blog. #4 is Schalene Jennings Dagutis’ blog. Without her, we would not have the Slave Name Roll Project. I get a lot of traffic from her blog since she mentioned my blog in her introduction to the project.

Search terms

Not all search engines reveal search terms due to privacy, however, it is still interesting to see what may have brought people to my blog. Many search terms are places and ancestral names.

What’s Coming in 2017?

I began blogging in January 2014 when I joined Amy Johnson Crow‘s challenge 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks. In 2015 I did the 2015 Edition and by the end of the year, I had written about my children’s ancestors from their grandparents to 4th great-grandparents as well as 1/4 of the 5th great-grandparents. During 2017 I am going to do a NEW SEASON of the challenge, working on the rest of their 5th great-grandparents and posting on Fridays instead of Mondays.

Once the Old Photographs series has been put to bed, I plan to get back to doing the heirloom posts, Tuesday’s Child’s Family Heirlooms.

Happy New Year to all my readers!

Very special thanks to Amy Cohen of Brotmanblog: A Family Journey for being my most active commenter for the past two years.

Thank you to all my readers and followers for making 2016 such a great year! Wishing you success in your genealogy and blogging, joy and happiness in your lives. Happy New Year 2017!

bestwishescathy1© 2017, copyright Cathy Meder-Dempsey. All rights reserved.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 39 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

25 thoughts on “2016 A Year in Review and What’s Coming in 2017”

  1. Congratulations on another successful year! I look forward to your new projects and the continuation of the existing ones. And I will keep commenting! I can’t keep my mouth shut!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have taught me to take the time to post comments. In the beginning I was really frustrated about comments disappearing before I got them posted and moderated and stopped commenting unless it was a WordPress blog. Now I know how each blogging platform works and am able to get the comment posted without it being lost. I hope you do keep commenting, Amy!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, don’t worry—I will. I love to exchange ideas and enthusiasm with fellow genealogy bloggers. This can be a very lonely hobby if you don’t interact with anyone but dead people!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I follow you through Feedly and do not comment often. I am French living in the US and have visited your site because of the MEDER and FABER families that are also in my tree. Bonne Année et Merci.
    Annick H.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Annick, sometimes I can tell when a visitor is interested in a certain family and wish I could somehow let them know, I’m here and interested. If you ever want to “talk” to me about the Meder and Faber families just send me an email. You’ll find it on my About page toward the end.
      Bonne Année et merci de me suivre.
      Cathy

      Like

  3. New Zealand appears to have been missed off your stats. You have at least one follower here and I would be surprised if there are not more of us following your blog.

    Happy New Year!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jane, thanks for catching that. I’ve updated the post. The image for the countries is only for the top 10. New Zealand came in at 17th place with 53 views!
      Thank you for the follow and comment. Happy New Year.

      Like

      1. Thanks … perhaps not surprising given our small population compared to the countries that were in the top 10.

        Like

      2. Jane, although Luxembourg is quite small, the geographical size of the smallest U.S. state, it is quite normal for it to be my #2 country as I blog about, live in, and have genealogy colleagues in Luxembourg. 🙂

        Like

  4. Congrats on your growth in 2016…i’m thinking 2017 will be a wonderful year for your blog too!! You do an amazing job with all this info and your willingness to share and collaborate is truly generous ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy 2017 to you too, Janice. I will be re-visiting some of the earlier ones. In the beginning I posted all photos in one post for a person or a family without focusing on the actual photograph. Maybe some more will find me! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

