Update: Another Door Opens in the KREMER-WINANDY Brick Wall

This morning I had a Message Request on Facebook from Linda. Her message helped me open another door in the KREMER-WINANDY brick wall. This isn’t the first time she’s helped me out. She’s the lady who inspired me to write A Latin Rule You May Not Have Known.

1793 Marriage Index Card for CREMERS and VINANDI.

In my 52 Ancestors: #16 A Door Opens in the KREMER-WINANDY Brick Wall post yesterday I wrote about how my excitement dwindled as I read through the actual entry in the parish register for the marriage event of Wilhelmus CREMERS and Maria Magdalena VENANDY in Fouhren. The marriage record I found didn’t have the names of the parents of the groom and I did not know where the names seen on the marriage index card (above) came from.

Linda found the another copy of the marriage record in Fouhren in which Wilhelmus CREMERS’ parents’ names were included.

“Luxembourg registres paroissiaux, 1601-1948,” images, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3QS7-99WS-9Q44?cc=2037955&wc=STHZ-BZ4%3A1500942601%2C1500942602 : 9 January 2015), Fouhren > image 130 of 141; paroisses, Luxembourg (parishes, Luxembourg).

May I introduce you to my children’s 6th great-grandparents Henri and Magdalena CREMERS of Arzfeld, parents of Wilhelm CREMERS aka Wilhem KREMER (ca. 1762-1814).

A Lesson Learned

While working with the parish records on FamilySearch I’ve noticed some records are included twice – having been kept in a kind of double accounting system. I should have thought of this when I noticed the parents of the groom’s names were missing.

Linda once again taught me a lesson. When working with FamilySearch collections, check the catalog and pay attention to the year range given for each batch. There may be more than one copy of the record and they may not be identical.

bestwishescathy1

© 2017, copyright Cathy Meder-Dempsey. All rights reserved.

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 36 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

10 thoughts on “Update: Another Door Opens in the KREMER-WINANDY Brick Wall”

  1. I had noticed too that there were different registers with different date spans and different records in them. Would you know why that is? Would it be like in France where registers were written twice, one for the church/town to keep and one to go to the Bishop/Departement? I noticed in some departements that have put both on line that they are quite different sometimes: rats and mice have eaten different parts of them, mildew and water damages attacked yet other parts, and most of the time it was a human problem at the time of writing of the act: the priest or the civil officer was just too darn lazy to write the same thing AGAIN and just glossed over the details…….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think some registers were even written three times. I know my great-grandfather’s birth record was destroyed during WWII. A copy was in place in district court as well as at a national level. FamilySearch microfilmed the records at the national level. To replace the destroyed record the district court typed up all of the records (conformed copies) in the 1950s and sent them to the town level.
      Having more than one copy is really good as mistakes may have been made (missing names like what happened here) or as you say, mice may have eaten a whole in an important part. Thanks, Annick.

      Like

  2. I love this! Great find and thank you for sharing!! There is a collection I use regularly on Ancestry that also exists on FamilySearch. They are Catholic baptisms, marriages, and burials. The records on Ancestry are easier to navigate because they are in chunks by year – they were the copy created for the Archdiocese. The records on FamilySearch are beautiful and easier to read originals, but they are in huge chunks of years so it takes a lot more work to find the record you need. There are many collections that have more than one “copy”. It’s so helpful when someone shows the way so you can identify where the various “copies” are held. How exciting to add another generation to your tree. Well, your husband and children’s tree. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Amberly. I hope by sharing right away and giving credit, it will help other researchers to improve their skills. Adding another generation to the tree, even to my husband and children’s, is wonderful. I wonder however how I will ever have time to work on the descendants.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

