Working on either side of a brick wall

Door 4“I have not made a positive connection from my earliest CLONCH ancestry (Dennis CLONCH of Kanawha County, (West) Virginia to the emigrant Hieronymus GLANTZ).” ~ Ralph L. Hayes [see comment/link below]

The late M. L. “Matt” Claunch of Brownsville, Texas,(manuscript compiled in 1985) & Ralph L Hayes are to be credited for all of the work done to connect Hieronymus GLANTZ (a.k.a. Jeremiah CLAUNCH) to Dennis CLONCH using tithe lists, tax rolls and lists, levies, land records and surveys, debt collections, ordinary licenses, and court records. The surname spellings in these records: Glantz, Clonch, Claunch, Clansh, Clanch, Clounch.

I believe that several more children were born to Jeremiah CLAUNCH and his wife Erna Barbara MACK than are listed in my database. Sons may have named their sons after Jeremiah causing much confusion as several Jeremiah’s show up along the path of records found. The lineage: 4. Dennis CLONCH, 3. Jeremiah CLAUNCH Jr., 2. Jeremiah CLAUNCH Sr., and 1. Hieronymus GLANTZ (a.k.a. Jeremiah CLAUNCH) is an assumption on my part. After evaluating the data contributed by Matt and Ralph I find that there must have been 4 generations and not just 3 as previously seen.

It’s time for a fresh point of view. Could research into the collateral lines be the answer? Dennis CLONCH is believed to have had 4 brothers and 2 sisters.

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 36 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

2 thoughts on “Working on either side of a brick wall”

  1. Hi, my name is Roger C Clonch of originally Ohio. I’ve been slowly curiously looking for ancestry and origin of the Clonch name. It seems the trail always leads back to Hieronymus Glantz, kind of like the roots of a tree. The more I read, the more interesting it gets. Seems to be a large grouping in the West Virginia and Carolina areas. Wow. Roger

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

