85 Years Ago Today: My Maternal Grandparents Were Married

At 7 o’clock on the evening of 26 July 1935, Mathias SCHAFFNER, mayor of Echternach (Luxembourg), married Nicolas WILDINGER and Marie Marcelle FOURNELLE. The groom was 28 years old and a plumber; the bride was 26 years old and without an occupation.

Nicolas’ mother, Catharina PÖPPELREITER, and Marcelle’s father, Johann Joseph FOURNELLE, were present and agreeable to the marriage.

Johann WILDINGER, the father of the groom,  and Catharina FRANTZ, the mother of the bride, were both deceased at the time of the marriage.

The religious marriage ceremony took place the following day in St. Willibrod Basilica in Echternach in the strictest privacy per an announcement sent out by the parents of the bridal couple. Their only child, my mother, was born ten months later and cannot have been the reason for the church ceremony being performed in privacy.

The marriage lasted only six years. It ended on 24 October 1941 when Nicolas died of tuberculosis. Although Marcelle had at least one suitor who offered marriage, she never remarried. She died in 2005 in her 96th year.

I previously wrote about Nicolas and Marcelle in 2015: 52 Ancestors: #4 The Plumber/Tinsmith and the Seamstress.

© 2020, copyright Cathy Meder-Dempsey. All rights reserved.

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

When I’m not doing genealogy and blogging, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful Luxembourg countryside.

19 thoughts on “85 Years Ago Today: My Maternal Grandparents Were Married”

  1. So good to see your blog notification appear in my inbox! What a sad story though. Does your mother have any siblings? Does she have clear memories of her father?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Mom was their only child. She was only 5 when he died but she does have memories of him. In the post I mentioned at the bottom there are a couple of photos of him holding her and playing with her.
      Thanks for the support, Amy.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Cathy, My maternal grandparents were married the same year on April 21st, which also happened to be my grandmother’s birthday. She was born in 1912, 6 days after the Titanic sank. My grandparents split in the 1950’s. My grandfather passed in 1988, and “Grandma” passed in 2004. I may be working on my next post as well. I love posts celebrating grandparents, as these were the people we grew up knowing and loving. Thanks Cathy. Wishing you and Egon the best. Brian

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Such a sweet and sad post on your grandparents. He died so young and then your grandmother – her love and heartbreak for him must to have been so deep to have her never married again. Great to see your post in my mail 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

AI Genealogy Insights

Exploring the Advantages and Limitations of Artificial Intelligence-assisted Genealogy

Konzen Genealogy

Tracing the Konzen Family Line

Laura J. Hanson

City writer with a country view

Look into my eye

Mijn ervaring met Acanthamoeba Keratitis, meer dan alleen een ernstige oogaandoening

Secrets et ancêtres

Généalogie familiale

Finding My Ancestors

a personal family tree blog

B&F: Jewish Genealogy and More

Navigating Jewish Genealogy

Through The Byzantine Gate

The Serrapede and Muro Families-From Agropoli to America

Blackthorn Genealogy

tales of ancestral adventure, genealogical pursuit, and greater belonging

Many Branches, One Tree

...Understanding our roots helps us grow

Roots Revealed

Viewing African American History Through a Genealogical Lens

Decluttering the Stuff

Decluttering the Stuff to Live a Decluttered Life

Genealogy Bites

Little bites of genealogy.

Past Presence

For genealogists and family historians

Finding Progenitors

Ask Questions........Share Stories

Caroline's Chronicles

My family & other oddities

DNAsleuth

incorporating DNA in genealogy research

This Is Us

The Browns & The Moores, A Few Gauffreaus & Gustins

noisybrain

As my life goes by, the past gets closer and the future further away.