Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #40 It’s a Girl!

Florence Cecil ROYALTY (1909-1997)

Mrs. Florence Lilly (sic) of Bay City, Pope County, Illinois, received this postcard written on 8 August 1909.

1909florencececilroyaltysmOn the front is a photograph of baby Cecil ROYALTY. One would think with this name the baby would be a boy however this young lady was named after her mother Fern CECIL (1889-1978).

1909florencececilroyaltybacksmOn the back of the postcard is the following text:

Our grand daughter
Cecil Royaltey
Born Feb. 4th 1909
Shawnee Okla.
Will Royaltey babe.
sent by Grand Father
C. A. Royaltey
Purcell Okla.

The grandfather C. A. Royaltey who sent the card was Chester Ashley ROYALTEY (1856-1917), the brother of Florence ROYALTY (1868-1946), wife of Isaac Spencer “Ike” LILLIE (1872-1932).

Further research on baby Cecil showed the date of birth given on the card is not quite correct. She was born 4 January 1909. Cecil, being the first grandchild, may have been the reason the excited grandfather Chester made the mistake. Did he have several copies of the photograph he was sending to family and friends? Did he not pay close enough attention while writing the same text on each postcard?

On the census in 1910 and 1920 she was seen as Cecil, in 1930 as Florence C., and in 1940 as Florence. She likely got the name Florence from her grand-aunt Florence LILLIE née ROYALTY who received the photo from her brother Chester, the grandfather. The SSDI and SSN application (both index-only) have Cecil with her married name(s) EILBECK and TOLLES but not with the first or middle name Florence. The 1972 obituary of her first husband Arthur Blake EILBECK does not mention children and the widow is named as “Cecil (née Royalty).”

1972obit
Historical Newspapers, Birth, Marriage, & Death Announcements, 1851-2003. New York Times 1972 (http://www.ancestry.com : accessed 27 January 2016)

More about this collection, how it came to be in my possession,
and links to previous posts in the series can be found here.

Please contact me!
Are you related to a person mentioned in this post? Send an email to
openingdoorsinbrickwalls @ pt.lu or message me on my Facebook page
Opening Doors in Brick Walls.

© 2016 Cathy Meder-Dempsey

Author: Cathy Meder-Dempsey

As a military brat I've lived in Georgia, France, Idaho, West Virginia, Spain, South Carolina, Texas, and Luxembourg. Married 36 years with two grown children. When I’m not doing genealogy, I spend time riding my racing bike with my husband through the wonderful countryside in Luxembourg and surrounding countries.

7 thoughts on “Old Photographs Saved From Trash Can ~ #40 It’s a Girl!”

  1. Wow! What a find for me. Mrs Eilbeck was the Westwood High School librarian when I attended school there 1964-1967. I was a member of the Library Council every year. President my senior year. I often worked weekends and such doing yard work and washing windows for Mrs. Eilbeck. She had no children. I remember her telling me she was born in Oklahoma before it was a state. And that the Royalty family was centered in Illinois. Do you have any other info on her? I would be glad to swap Mrs E stories.with you. We are not related but she had me meet Mr Tolles before they were married to make sure I was all right with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, David, for sharing with me. I have very little information on Cecil Florence ROYALTY. There is no blood relationship between us. She was a second cousin of my 4th cousin twice removed, Joe who shared the photographs.
      What an amazing story of your meeting Mr. Tolles before they married. She must have been very impressed by you as a young man.
      Feel free to share any story you wish. Joe may be interested in reading them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

